Double Jinx

ID-100162284

I was delighted and relieved that we made it through our annual winter ski trip this year without the need for any x-rays. The past three years have resulted in injuries to our kids. I actually gloated to my husband that our family had survived unscathed and that bad luck comes in threes, so we were out of the woods.

Yesterday, wanting to fill in some time, I decided to take my youngest two kids to the local ice skating rink. My fateful last words were ‘have fun, but don’t break anything!’ My daughter and son were having great fun racing each other and creating challenges for one another. They even participated in games organized by the ice skating rink staff. My greatest concern was that as a spectator my extremities might require amputation as I felt like frostbite had well and truly kicked in – I guess hypothermia is the price of keeping your kids entertained in the school holidays.

With ten minutes left in the session, my daughter fell and instinctively put her arm out to break her fall. She came off the ice in pain and declared she thought she had broken her arm.

I rushed her to the closest GP who after a 30 second inspection sent us to the local hospital for an x-ray. Lo and behold the x-ray confirmed our suspicions of a fracture and my daughter now has her arm in plaster for a few weeks.

I take full responsibility for tempting fate – not only did I jinx the situation by boasting that we had survived a year without an x-ray, but then to verbalise that my kids shouldn’t break any bones was too much. Fate is sitting back sniggering at my naivety that we were out of the woods.

Sometimes you wish you could wrap your kids in cotton wool, but experiences like this are going to happen regardless of how protective you are! Actually, to be honest, I think my daughter may be secretly happy to have her first cast, as she took no time at all to bust out the permanent marker so we could all sign it!

Image courtesy of praisaeng, freedigitalphotos.net

Leave a Reply

