Happy as a pig in mud

ID-100236168

My son is a magnet for mud. I’m convinced it’s a genetic thing that is found in the xx chromosomes. My daughters have always avoided muddy puddles whereas my son seeks them. Recently my son went for a bike ride along a concrete path but he managed to veer off course through a quagmire disguised as a grassy reserve, which resulted in him and his bike becoming sprayed with mud. From afar his back resembled a newborn baby whose nappy has exploded up their back. Not content with this level on mud cover he decided to ditch the bike and literally paint his legs with the mud. He was literally as happy as a pig in mud!

Thankfully I always carry a picnic blanket in the boot of my car so my little mud loving son can be transported home.

When I recently collected him for a play date at his friend’s home I arrived to find him dressed in borrowed clothes and was handed a bag of wet (freshly washed) clothes and shoes. He and his friend had been playing in mud once again and had to be hosed down before they could go inside to change!

Maybe he is on to something! I know women pay good money to have mud wraps in order to turn back the clock – maybe that is why my son looks so young!

I guess it is a rite of passage for little boys to play in mud and he has so much fun with it that it is hard to be angry over stained clothes and muddy skin.

(Picture courtesy of arztsamui, freedigitalphotos.net)

Leave a Reply

