Pen Friend

ID-100107056

My daughter has just received her first hand written letter from a pen friend in England. This arrangement came about through a friend of a friend and both the girls on opposite sides of the world are excited at the opportunity to form a bond with each other.

The letter my daughter received was like a piece of artwork. It was beautifully laid out and the girl’s handwriting is so neat and orderly. I must admit, I think my daughter was a bit intimidated by how gorgeous the letter was, as my daughter doesn’t have the neatest handwriting as she has always been too focused on the content than the style of her writing. Also, she relies heavily on typing as she uses computers for all her assignments at school.

In an age where handwriting is becoming a bit of a lost art, I’m thrilled that my daughter will get the opportunity to express herself through writing, rather than through electronic media. Not only does a formal letter require proper handwriting, the language is also more formal – there won’t be any acronyms like IDK, BBS or LOL, nor any emoticons with winking eyes and tongues sticking out!

The lovely thing about the letter my daughter received is that the two girls seem well suited with their intelligence and interests. I’m looking forward to my daughter learning more about this girl’s life and how it contrasts to her life. Her pen friend is an only child, whilst my daughter has three siblings. The other girl lives in a quaint cottage in a village with only two roads whilst we live in a large two storey house on a busy road in a suburb just outside of a large metropolitan city. I’m sure their correspondence will be an educational experience for them both.

I just hope they continue to write and that these letters build the basis of a lifelong friendship. Wouldn’t it be lovely if one day they arrange to meet up either in Europe or in Australia to cement their friendship!

(Picture courtesy of ddpavumba, freedigitalphotos.net)

Leave a Reply

