TRICK OR TREAT

ID-100210067

My pet hate is Halloween – which I must admit, doesn’t make me a very popular person at this time of the year!

I just find the entire palaver hypocritical of every lesson we try to teach our children all year long. From an early age we try to instill in our kids the knowledge that they must not accept lollies (candy for the American’s reading this) from strangers, then once a year we encourage them to actually go in search of strangers from whom to accept sugary treats.

Furthermore, in keeping with the tradition of Halloween, the kids ‘Trick or Treat’ meaning that if they don’t get what they want from that household they then play a ‘trick’ on the household (aka do something to damage the person’s property, albeit hopefully not in a permanent way). I can’t imagine any parent condoning this type of behaviour under normal circumstances, which is why I struggle to understand the compliance of parents to let their children participate.

I know this ‘tradition’ spans back to pagan times, but I don’t think it has any relevance in today’s society and I think the whole concept of trying to explain to small children about spirits and ghosts opens up a whole arena of tricky questions that need not be raised.

Before you call the fun police – don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against kids dressing up or having lollies for special occasions, I just don’t understand why it has to be done in a way that contridicts the lessons you try to teach your children.

I would prefer to see a celebration that sees children perform a selfless good deed and get lollies as a reward, rather than receive candy as blackmail so that they don’t play a practical joke on a resident.

OK – I’m climbing down off my high horse now. Let me know if you think I’m a stick in the mud or if you agree!

(Image courtesy of zirconicusso, freedigitalphotos.net)

Leave a Reply

