HOW MUCH CAN YOU LOVE?  

ID-10044834

My second daughter has just had a birthday and I was reminiscing about my thoughts and feelings before her birth. I recall being heavily pregnant and being honestly concerned that there was no way I could love this baby as much as my toddler. I had just spent almost two years exclusively with my eldest daughter and loved her intensely. I couldn’t imagine having that same level of love for another human being.

The moment my second daughter was born I no longer had to worry about whether I would find enough love for her too. I realised that we don’t have a finite space in our hearts for love. I love all my children with the same intensity and on reflection I feel foolish for having worried that it may not be the case.

In fact, the amount of love I had for my two daughters only swelled when I saw my toddler cuddling her new baby sister. They are less than two years apart and today they are thick as thieves.

Even when we had our ‘surprise’ fourth child, we fell instantly in love with him and could not imagine our family being complete without him.

Love doesn’t know limitations. Our hearts are able to open up and embrace an infinite number of people. We are only limited with the number of people we can form close bonds with based upon the time available to form those meaningful relationships.

In a time where there seems to be so much hate in this world, take a moment to reflect on how lucky we are to have people around us that we love and know that there is always room in your heart to love yet another!

(Picture courtesy of digitalart, freedigitalphotos.net)

2 thoughts on “HOW MUCH CAN YOU LOVE?  

  1. So lovely. I am currently pregnant with my second child and looking at friends with two and reading this, I can’t wait to see the bond, which will hopefully develop between my two.

Leave a Reply

