FORGOTTEN CHILD

ID-10055317

It would be hypocritical of me to call my blog ‘Truth About Parenting’ and not share with you the truth about my parenting journey.

One day this week I forgot my child! I took my son to his basketball game and my daughter decided to come along as her friend was going to be at the stadium at the same time. Usually my daughter would rather stick red hot pokers in her eyes than come to basketball as a spectator, so she rarely comes along.

When we arrived she went and sat with her friend while I watched my son’s game. Upon the conclusion of the game (which incidentally he won), my son was nagging me to give him money for the canteen. As I had dinner waiting at home, I refused his request and was trying to avoid a total meltdown as I herded him to the car. Without a second thought I drove away and was half way home when I received a phone call from an unfamiliar phone number. I answered to hear my daughter asking ‘Mum, where are you?’ I had completely forgotten that she had come with us, which is quite unbelievable as she is not a kid to sit quietly in the back of the car. My daughter talks incessantly and always makes herself known, which makes the fact I didn’t notice her absence even more profound.

I immediately turned the car around and went back to the stadium to collect her. She was standing with her friend’s mother who sarcastically awarded me ‘Mother of the year!’ Thankfully after my heart felt apology, my daughter saw humour in the situation and was not too perturbed by the incident.

My brain fade reminded me of my own childhood when my mother once forgot to collect me from a music lesson and at the age of 12 I walked 2 kilometres in the dark to get home. In an effort to appease my daughter I relayed my experience to her to let her know I had survived worse!

I was also forgotten by my school when I was about 8 years of age. I had gone to sick bay as I was unwell and the office staff had tried to contact my mother to collect me, but as it was in a time prior to mobile phones they couldn’t get a message to her. At the end of the day, the staff had forgotten I was lying quietly on a stretcher and they all left for the day. My mother was beside herself with worry when I didn’t return home after school. Eventually I came to the realisation that no one was coming to get me and so walked a few kilometres home by myself, crying all the way as I was feeling so sick. My parents were livid at the school’s negligence and made it known to the principal the next day.

Reflecting on my own experiences, I hope that it is not completely uncommon for a child to be forgotten.

In fact, with all the running around I do for all my four kids’ extra curricular activities, I’m surprised this is the first time I have forgotten one of my kids!

Let me know if you have forgotten a child or been forgotten! Hopefully I’m not alone!

 

 

(Picture courtesy of Stuart Miles, freedigitialphotos.net)

Leave a Reply

