WASTED PLACENTAS

I had a bizarre conversation the other day that began with a friend saying ‘Hey, guess what I had on the weekend?’ then followed with ‘my friend’s placenta!’

I know how that sounds as I had visions of a slab of slimy placenta served up on a silver platter, but she went on to explain her friend had her placenta encapsulated (a process where they dry, grind and encapsulate the placenta into handy little tablets). Apparently it assists new mums to avoid postnatal depression, helps with healing after the birth, keeps iron levels high and results in vitality and a sense of well-being. If refrigerated properly, the capsules are said to last a long time and may even help a woman through menopause. My friend had been feeling run-down so her friend suggested she try a placenta capsule. The next day she said she was bursting full of energy and couldn’t believe how good she felt!

Image

This conversation led me to think about the four wasted placentas I had that were just discarded as medical waste. Based upon my friend’s rave review of placenta capsules, I would have had a lifetime supply of capsules for all my family and friends to feel amazing!

The only other use I have heard of for a placenta was a ceremonial one where a friend of mine stored her placenta in the freezer until her child’s naming day and then planted it under a tree to symbolise that the child can always return home. I really liked the idea of the planting of the tree, but not so much the months of having to push the placenta aside to rummage through the freezer in search of meat for the nightly meal!

 

The idea of using your baby’s placenta may turn your stomach, but it is something that many cultures have promoted for centuries, not to mention animals in the wild do it. Maybe now that you can have your placenta dried and ground in handy capsules, we may see a removal of the stigma attached to consuming this source of rich nutrients.

 

If you used your placenta, I’d love to hear about it. Leave me a comment!

 

 

(Image courtesy of arztsamui, freedigitialphotos.net)

2 thoughts on “WASTED PLACENTAS

  1. justanothermumblog

    I was so close to encapsulating mine. I had done a lot of research on the benefits and contacted someone to do it for me but then ultimately I didn’t like the idea of after giving birth putting my placenta in a cool box and getting it to the person doing the encapsulation. I think we will do it with the next one though!

Leave a Reply

