RECYCLING

My kids love this time of year, as we receive packaged items in the lead up to Christmas. What I see as packaging, they see as materials for projects!

Yesterday we had a delivery of some new outdoor furniture. Each chair had a black plastic sleeve over it for protection.  I removed these and asked my son to put them in the bin. When I came inside after setting up the new furniture I found all the plastic tubes taped together to make a long bendy pipe. My kids have turned this packaging into an ‘intercom’, which is hilarious given we actually have an intercom already. This ‘intercom’ allows more privacy than our electronic one as you can whisper into it and the person at the other end can still hear you. At first I thought it was cute, but after spending a day almost tripping over it, I’m really ready to retire the ‘intercom’ to the bin. I’m sure people at the top of the rubbish pile at the tip would like to talk with privacy to those at the bottom!

The cardboard that came as packaging has been cut up and turned into many weird and wonderful things. My daughter is currently making a cardboard Xmas wreath with painted pegs to hold Christmas cards. Again, very cute, but man she can make a mess when painting!

Even the little protective foam blocks inside a box have been kept and are currently being used as little ‘Christmas snow flakes’. How endearing (unless scattered all over your floor!) 

When we are encouraged to recycle, I’m not sure if this is what they had in mind! I love that the kids are creating their own fun and using their creativity, but I just wish it didn’t involve my house looking like a dump! As the saying goes, ‘Excuse the mess, my kids are making memories!’

 

 

Image 

(Photo of our ‘intercom’ and kids doing craft at the kitchen table)

 

Leave a Reply

