THE FINE LINE BETWEEN ASSISTING AND DOING

All parents with school age kids will relate to today’s post. Your child comes home with an assignment and has to take a poster; diorama; paper mache model or powerpoint presentation to school.

Where do you draw the line between helping your child and actually doing the project?

I recall an assignment my son had last year, where he had to make a model of a man-made structure. I gave him a shoebox; cellophane; glue and paddle pop sticks to make a model of a jetty over water. When we arrived at school with his proudly manufactured row of sticks, we were confronted with an Eiffel Tower and a Sydney Harbour Bridge. I took one look and thought there was no way in hell that a 7-year-old child had made (let alone helped with the construction of) these masterpieces. I didn’t know whether I should feel guilty for letting my son take a sub-standard project to school or whether indeed the parents of these kid’s realised that it would be very clear to the teacher that their child had not actually done their model themselves.Image

If the method adopted is for parents to take over kid’s projects, does that mean we will get a gold star for our efforts and graduate from Year One at the end of the year?

I finished school over two decades ago and I don’t really want to do it all over again! With four kids, I have my time already taken up just helping to guide them on how to complete their assignments. There aren’t enough hours in the day for me to actually do all their reports and projects.

After all, the purpose of school is to educate your child!

So parents I implore you – put down your glue guns, paints and modeling clay and let your children express themselves in way that is appropriate for their age and skill set. You never know, they might enjoy it and even learn a thing or two!

 

 

What lengths have you gone to in helping with a child’s project?

 

 

 

Photo courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net 

One thought on “THE FINE LINE BETWEEN ASSISTING AND DOING

  1. […] I do on the subject of letting your children do things for themselves. I wrote a post last year ‘The fine line between assisting and doing’ on the subject of giving your children guidance but leaving them to do their homework […]

Leave a Reply

